Events‎ > ‎Handicap Races‎ > ‎10km handicap‎ > ‎

2015 April 10km handicap results

Results can be downloaded from the foot of this page.

with Vic Anderson

We had 41 starters, a good number given the Easter weekend and the overnight/early morning rain. First competitor, Chris, was away at 6:56am, in the dark. Between Chris and our final finisher, 3mm of rain fell. 9 qualified runners bettered handicap. 12 (of the 41, with more than one start) ran their best time in the 2014-15 series to date and their were 2 PBs.

Our fastest of the day was David Riches in 35:51. This time is David’s new pb which had been 36:16 set 3 years ago in April 2012.

Our fastest lady on the day was Lilian Molesworth in 39:46, her best time since September 2011 (39:37). Lilian’s pb is 38:36 set in August 2011; this is her only time in the 38s.

Despite these and some other specially great runs, the run of the day came from our first home and trophy winner, Di Karageorgis in a time of 52:04. Di last ran in the 52s last October (52:52); her only other time quicker, and pb, was run in March 2013, 51:27. Over recent months Di has been trail running to improve her strength and fitness preparing for her North Face 50k challenge in May. Very obviously the benefits were reflected in this handicap win. Well done Di. Fantastic result. Super run.

The run:

Di was first home followed 10 secs ahead of Andy Hamill (watch time 55:29). Andy was having his second run back from a long break. This was his 2nd qualifier of 3, and an improvement of over 2 minutes on last month’s run, but 1m30s off his pre-injury run time. Keep bringing it down Andy, you are travelling well! Great effort.

Two secs behind Andy and officially 2nd was Peter Brouwer. Peter ran 43:46, his best time since September’12 (43:40). Saturday’s run was only 23 secs off his pb set in July’12.

Another two secs behind and 3rd was Bruce Driscoll with a 41:03 run. This was Bruce’s best since a 40:22 in April 2013.

Dean Turner was next home with a pb run of 43:22, previously 44:07. Dean has lowered his time in 4 of his 7 runs.

Peter Watson was new to the club last month and this go lowered his run time by 1m23s to 51:03.

David Riches with his pb was in next, racing the final metres to the line with new member Damian Person. Damian had his first run in the handicap on Saturday, running a time of 38:22.

Leanne Ooi ran her 3rd qualifier and lowered her time by 6m36s to 54:09. Leanne has a goal to run a marathon late in the year. Regular running and increased distances are abetting improved handicap times.

Geoff Craine ran his best time on this course since October 2010.

Steve Pappas his best time since August’14.

Then Lilian with her great time.

And MC Yuen rounded off those who bettered handicap, with his best since August’14.

Every month we usually have more than one runner that pulls out a special super effort and result; on another day any of those efforts could easily prove to be a winner. Every month we can only have one trophy-winner but in reality, there are many winners. We had several this month. The competitiveness of our runners is very evident and most are always trying to do their best. This is making for a great contest for the line and that trophy.

Well done to everybody that took participated, and again mentioning, given it was Easter and the wet weather.

Fastest on the day:

David Riches 35:51 Damian Person 38:22 Steve Pappas 38:59

Lilian Molesworth 39:46 Mary Sheehan 48:47 Denise Driscoll 49:59

Progressive Point-score competitions:

All competitions are best 10 of the 12 runs, so the two lowest scores are deducted. After these adjustments, the competition standings are as follows:


There have been some changes in the deckchairs this month: Lilian Molesworth retains the lead, with 1178 points; Dean Turner remains second, and narrowing the gap, now on 1173; John Child has remained third on 1165; with Peter Brouwer now fourth on 1160.

Fastest Female:
Lilian Molesworth 60 Lisa Bennett 55 and Jacqui Viterale 39 and Mary Sheehan 38

Fastest Male:
Paul Webb 53 Steve Pappas 46 and Gary Dalton 41.

The winners of our lucky draws: Lucky stick #15: Carl Simpson, (#41 won last month) and lucky ticket: Nelson Ingram. We caught up with Brian Rensford from a previous month and he opted for an Eaglehawk red. We’ll catch up with Nelson in the future; his options (being a junior) do not include a red or a white!

Thanks to all our helpers. Special thanks to Rob Ellison at the start/finish and for the ingenious thought of the canopy; to Joan Eisenhuth and Nadza Zjakic for the result recording; to Chris Moynham for setting up the water table very early before heading off in the dark. We did not think the very wet conditions warranted another water station this month, so Davo was not on the hill but went strolling with his camera. All assistance very very much appreciated.
Patrick V,
Apr 14, 2015, 11:37 PM
Patrick V,
Apr 14, 2015, 11:37 PM
Patrick V,
Apr 14, 2015, 11:38 PM
Patrick V,
Apr 14, 2015, 11:38 PM